TIFF: On the Red Carpet for the movie……

GOON

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

In the past, I’ve been trying to photograph famous people during these TIFF events. I don’t normally put much thought into it and hang out at Yorkville. Yes, I’ve seen pictures where people have been successful at photographing said famous people coming out of the Four Seasons or the Hazelton Hotel. In my case, it’s never during the time I’m there. I’m not the patient type. When I get there, I feel like I need to be somewhere else. Then I don’t leave for a while thinking the moment I leave, someone famous will come out and I miss the opportunity.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

This year, I’ve changed my approach and decide to pick and choose red carpet events that feature the stars I want to see. Okay, I fumble up by missing the red carpet for George Clooney & Ryan Gosling’s movie The Ides of March and U2’s movie From the Sky Down.

I head out to the center of Toronto’s universe – Yonge and Dundas Square – and hang out for the afternoon. Then I take a walk around to Ryerson University where it’s one of the locations for TIFF movies. I turn the corner from Church Street to Gerrard Street and see a lot of people lined up for the movie Goon. At this point, I have a decision to make – keep walking and head to Yorkville, or stick around and find out who shows up for the red carpet. Seeing my failure to photograph anyone famous at Yorkville, I decide to stay. Besides, I’m already here. There is not a large crowd thankfully. If you have seen my previous post, you know my issues with crowds and not being able to see anything.

I find myself a little spot at the end of the red carpet. Little did I know this is where the stars would pass by to get to the theatre. It turns out to be a great spot. And so, with very little knowledge of this movie except that the ad looks funny and it’s about hockey, I wait.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

Slowly but surely they come, and here is the first one. I hear the crowd yell for George, though I don’t think it is. I hear that he’s a boxer and they’re right. I later ask my brother if he knows who this guy is and he says Lennox Lewis. I Google search his image and sure enough they match! Lennox Lewis!?! I should have asked for his autograph. He still signed autographs even though people are calling him George.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

Next, Kim Coates from Entourage walks the red carpet. I’ve heard of the show and never watched it before. Like the X Files, Desperate Housewives, Glee, or Heroes, I’ll eventually come around to watching Entourage and liking it. It doesn’t matter if I miss the first season or whatever. I’ll figure out what’s happening.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

David Paetkau is next on the red carpet after a bunch of people we all don’t know pass through. He is a Canadian actor who has been on shows like Flashpoint, Dexter, Supernatural and Smallville. I only know of his name because someone asked for his autograph and called out his name. Like many of the others I see on the red carpet, he seems like a humble guy.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

Allison Pill, however, doesn’t stop for any autographs and just walks on through. I look through her profile on IMDb and don’t know much of her work except CSI (one episode), Pillars of the Earth mini series and Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

I didn’t know Jay Baruchel either and relied on others to call his name out. According to IMDb, he’s a Canadian and has done shows like Are You Afraid of the Dark? He also signs plenty of autographs.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

And finally…..
wait for it….
wait for it…..
wait for it….
the most recognizable on this red carpet……

Seann William Scott!

Most famous as Stifler on American Pie. He signed a lot of autographs and didn’t have any attitude about it. He’s smiling while he does it. Then kindly tells people he needs to get to the theatre. I’m glad to have seen him and all the others. I never would have thought I’d get this opportunity much less even have good photos to post. After I leave, I talk to a girl promoting the Movie network at a shuttle bus station at Yonge and Dundas for TIFF ticket holders. I tell her who I saw and show her all the pictures. She is like me. We don’t put much importance on famous people. However, when I show her Seann William Scott, she starts going on about how funny he is and he’s a nice guy. I made her day and I’m glad.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greceln.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/tiff-on-the-red-carpet-for-the-movie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s not Lennox Lewis lol … It’s Georges Laraque, a famous former NHL hockey player, animal rights activist, vegan, restauranteur, and deputy leader of the federal Green Party. He was also on the CBC television series Battle of the Blades. He has a cameo in the film.

    • Thanks so much.LOL. Now I know. I could edit this, but I’ll leave it. Like I said, I don’t follow famous people as much.

      • Also, I don’t watch hockey….if asked , I can only point out Doug Gilmour.


Leave a Reply

