Premier of Real Steel in Toronto

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

At TIFF, Hugh Jackman did not show up for the movie, Butter. It left many fans disappointed. So when I hear that Hugh Jackman will be coming to town for the premier of Real Steel, I’m definitely in.

On the day of the premier, I’m not sure where the red carpet will be. Outside? I see that’s where the lineup is for ticket holders. I see some photographers but no red carpet. I hang out at Second Cup for half an hour and then decide to go back to the theatre. When I see a media person go inside with a ladder, I follow him up the escalator. There it is – the red carpet! I ask security if I can stay and he says it’s fine. There are already a few people, but no large crowd. They’re from Michigan and took time off after scouting for tickets online and scoring through an inside person for the premier. Fantastic, I think to myself. No large crowd yet and I have a front row view. That is until organizers cord off a section for the media and place markers for them. Great. I certainly cannot pass as a media person this time around because I did not contact them of my presence in advance. All I can do is smile to them and pretend I know what I’m doing with my super duper nice Nikon D7000. I do get a chance to meet Andria Case. If only I can trade places with her to do interviews.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

The first person down the red carpet is Kevin Durand. I’ve never heard of him but I’m sure I’ve seen him in other movies. I check on IMBd later and see that a.) he’s a Canadian and b.) he’s in the movies I Am Number Four, X-men: Wolverine and in T.V. show such as Lost and The Outer Limits. Looking at his career, I have to wonder about how old he is. What? We’re about the same age. He’s definitely tall and definitely handsome. His tallness helps since I have to take pictures over people’s heads.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

Next on the red carpet is George Chuvalo – another Canadian. He’s never been knocked down in 93 professional fights. He did fight Mohammed Ali twice and lost. However, Ali says this of Chuvalo, “He’s the toughest guy I ever fought.” (Wikipedia).

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

This story is getting better as I do more research on the actors in the movie. Dakota Goyo is another Canadian who plays Max in the movie. He started his acting career at the age of five. He plays young Thor in the movie Thor as well as being on television for such shows as Murdoch Mysteries and The Listener. While being interviewed, I get this one shot of him between the elbows of people.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

Director Shawn Levy – you’re the best. Thanks for noticing my frustrations as I try to photograph you! (Note to self – do not use flash if I’m that close to people. It makes the photos look washed out and famous people probably don’t appreciate it.) You were in 21 Jump Street? Holy cow! I used to watch that show. (Okay, I’m showing my age. Johnny Depp was in that show also). Shawn Levy has also directed movies such as the Pink Panther and Cheaper by the Dozen.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

Finally, Hugh Jackman makes his way and there is a fuss all around us. He is definitely better looking in real life. By now, I’m being crushed by some inconsiderate people who want his attention. Later when the promotors announce the next person on the red carpet, I see Mark Bocek’s name. Could it be? Someone in the media asks who he is and I say martial artist. He automati-cally says MMA fighter. Well okay, the reason I know Mark Bocek is because we both used to train at Kombat Arts Training Academy. I’m not currently training there at this time and neither is Mark Bocek. It’s great to see him though. Sorry for the last picture not being clear. It’s very difficult when everyone is rushing to get a photo of Hugh Jackman. This photo below was taken underneath someone’s elbow.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

And finally, if I ever get a chance to see Hugh Jackman again, I would like my Wolverine snowboard to be signed.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greceln.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/real-steel-toronto/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

