My Chocolate Affair

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

I know I have a sweet tooth. It’s my weakness. I am the kind of person that likes to work out at a gym or martial arts club and then feed myself sweets soon after. I have been laughed at for doing so. I sometimes have dessert first before a meal. Believe it or not, I exercise to keep my girlie shape more than anything. According to my dad, I apparently have the same mannerisms as my paternal grandmother who savours the taste while eating sweets.

Looking into weekend events in Toronto, there are quite a few things to do. I am unsure that my Aunt and two cousins are interested in partaking in Nuit Blanche or Cultural Day after seeing a choir perform.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

What I find out is The Luxury Chocolate Show is happening the next day, an event that I can do on my own and not spend more than a few hours of my time. Great way to spend a Sunday.

The Chocolate Show is part of the month long Chocolate Festival that runs from October 2 – 23.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

A few of the high-lighted events are The 6th Annual Chocolate Ball: Cocoa Carnival at Palais Royal Ballroom on October 21, Chocolate High Tea celebrated throughout the month at the King Edward Hotel and Old Mill Inn, and Chocolicious: tour de chocolate. Get a passport, download coupons when they become available and visit various locations.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

I often wonder why I didn’t take a chocolatier course at George Brown College. I did attend that college for something else. It’s definitely not too late. I looked up the program and there is a certificate program that I can take in the evening. Some of the creations at the show are amazing, like these shoes for example. I don’t know how it’s done but it’s probably sprayed with edible colouring.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

At the show, there is a chocolate spa lounge with free massage, manicure and chocolate butter hand massage. I even received a sample organic body lotion from One Spa Retreat and a $10 coupon from Spadirect.

With Halloween on the way, there are plenty of delectable sample treats handed out. Among the vendors are The Nutty Chocolatier, Purdy’s, Laura Slack Chocolate Artist and Waffle & Chocolate Inc.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

There are also Wine + Chocolate Tasting Experience packages, Chocolate Henna (by Fresh Inc. Mendhi) and Chocolate Chef Challenge. While Chef Michelle Martin of Auntee Donna’s Caterers couldn’t make it, Chef Wesley Boodhram of Alice Fazoolis Downtown and Chef Adriana Biondi of Vertigo Lounge use chocolate in their dishes to gain votes from the public to win the People’s Choice Award. I don’t know who won but here is a sample from Chef Wesley Boodhram:

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

I don’t know this chef’s name but he’s creating something wonderful with chocolate. It amazes me what these people can do with chocolate. I’ve seen a few of those chocolate competitions on t.v. and it’s crazy mad with the things they come up with.

While I am envying his edible creation, I see a young girl with a Miss International Canada sash. At first. I think she is THE Miss Canada who was at the Miss Universe pageant recently. Upon

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

further research, I think she’s Miss Teen Canada International Lauren Howe. (It’s hard to tell who’s representing us when Miss Canada isn’t televised. And yes, I do like these pageants because women can be smart and beautiful. Miss Canada did win the Miss Universe title in 2005. She went to school at Ryerson.) Lauren Howe does possess a youthfulness about her, enjoying the treats and even getting some photos taken

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

with the chef. She seems very personable.

While there are chefs and chocolatiers demonstrating their skills and providing samples to chocolate lovers, the Royal Botanical Garden is in attendance also. They set up some plants and cocoa beans to demonstrate the relationship between plants and food. They are holding a Chocolate Exhibition From January 28 to April 15 2012.

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

© Grecel Nepomuceno 2011

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greceln.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/my-chocolate-affair-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

